jesus, politics, justice, mission & life

Icon

Psalm 146:9

With children currently at the front of the immigration issue that has become so heated, I find myself confused why this is an issue at all. Especially to followers of Jesus. I realize that many U.S. citizens shutter at the idea of a social program that their taxes support going towards children from another country. It would also be silly to ignore the hints of racism involved – that maybe some are just against non-caucasians becoming Christians. I wish we had time to do this by the book and make sure we could get before a judge and document their arrival to make them official citizens. New immigration judges are being brought in to help the process but yet we still have swarms of Christians protesting bringing children into our country when turning them away could often mean rape or murder for many of these children. I have lost count of times I have heard or read “it’s not my problem,” on the internet. As believers of Jesus, it is our problem.

????????????????

I believe we have to take our blinders off and quit looking at children through the prism of nationality. Looking at the below verses, I just don’t know how we can ignore these children.

Psalm 146:9 says “The LORD watches over the alien and sustains the fatherless and the widow, but he frustrates the ways of the wicked.”

Or Matthew 10:42 says,”And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward.”

Or James 1:27 states, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”

Based on the above scriptures, I would say it is our duty to protect these kids rather than leave them stranded in dangerous, sometimes lethal, conditions. I think Jesus would absolutely say this is our problem.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

